February 2020 Research and Publication News

Congratulations to Assistant Professor of Neurology Antonio Iglesias, MD, for his article, “Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation as Treatment in Multiple Neurologic Conditions,” published in the February issue of Current Neurology and Neuroscience Reports.  

Congratulations to Stritch Assistant Professor Harel Dahari, PhD, for receiving an RO1 grant from the NIH for his research, "Data-Driven Mathematical and Computational Modeling of Hepatitis D Infection and Treatment Response."  

Congratulations to Nursing Associate Professor Patricia Friend, PhD, APN-CNS, AOCNS, AGN-BC, and PhD student Mary Pat Johnson, MS, RN, AOCN, for receiving a research grant from the Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute for their study, “Cancer Survivor Empowerment through Patient-Reported Outcomes.” 

Congratulations to MD/PhD student Marisa Luck, mentored by Professor Mashkoor Choudhry, PhD, for receiving the Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral National Research Service Award (F30) from the National Institutes of Health.

Congratulations to Neurology Assistant Professor Jigisha Thakkar, MBBS, for her article, “Leptomeningeal metastasis from solid tumors,” published in the Journal of Neurological Sciences, January 2020. 

Congratulations to Microbiology and Immunology Associate Professor Katherine Radek, PhD, for receiving an NIH-sponsored R21 grant for her research, “Targeting the CHRNA7 Receptor to Modulate Wound Antimicrobial Responses.”  

January 2020 Research and Publication News

Congratulations to Associate Professor of Surgical Research Jose Alejandro Guevara-Pantino, MD, PhD, who received an RO1 grant from the NIH for his research, “Study of Anti-Tumor Immunity and Tissue Resident Memory Cell Development by NKG2D and Ribosomal Protein S6 Signaling in T Cells.” 

Congratulations to surgical resident Emanuel Eguia, MD, clinical associate professor Marshall S. Baker, MD, and associate professor Carlos Bechara, MD, for their article, “The Impact of the Affordable Care Act Medicaid Expansion on Vascular Surgery,” published in this month’s Annals of Vascular Surgery. 

Congratulations to Associate Dean of Graduate Education Leanne Cribbs, PhD, Cell and Molecular Physiology Professor Kenneth Byron, PhD, and Research Assistant Professor Lioubov Brueggemann, PhD, for their article, "Structural determinants of Kv7.5 potassium channels that confer changes in phosphatidylinositol 4,5-bisphosphate (PIP2) affinity and signaling sensitivities in smooth muscle cells," published in a December 2019 issue of Molecular Pharmacology

Congratulations to Parkinson Assistant Professor Justin Harbison, PhD, for his study "Gravid Culex pipiens Exhibit A Reduced Susceptibility to Ultra–Low Volume Adult Control Treatments Under Field Conditions," pubished in the December 2019 issue of the Journal of American Mosquito Control Association. 

Congratulations to Nursing Assistant Professor Lindsey Garfield, PhD, RN, for her article, “Low Serum Oxytocin Concentrations are Associated with Painful Menstruation,” published in Reproductive Sciences, January 2020. 

Congratulations to Stritch Professor and Neurology Chair José Biller, MD, FAAN, FACP, FAHA, for his article, “2019 Update to the 2018 Guidelines for the Early Management of Acute Ischemic Stroke: A Guideline for Healthcare Professionals From the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association,” published in Stroke, December 2019.   

Congratulations to Parkinson Associate Professor Lara Dugas, PhD, MPH, FTOS, and Director of Biostatistics Cara Joyce, PhD, for their article, “Constraint and trade-offs regulate energy expenditure during childhood,” published in Science Advances, December 2019. 

Congratulations to School of Nursing faculty Karen Saban, PhD, RN, APRN, CNRN, FAHA, Linda Witek Janusek, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Regina Conway-Phillips, PhD, RN, Niehoff alumna Stephanie Klonowski, APRN-CNP, and Department of Socioloty Assistant Professor Helena Dagadu, PhD, for publishing their article “Qualitative Evidence for Resilience, Stress, and Ethnicity (RiSE): A Program to to Address Race-Based Stress Among Black Women at Risk for Cardiovascular Disease” in the January 2020 issue of Science Direct.

Congratulations to Parkinson Professor Talar Markossian, MPH, PhD, who was one of two candidates selected for the 2020 Sinai Urban Health Institute (SUHI) Research Fellowship. 

Congratulations to Professor of Surgery Michael Nishimura, PhD, for his RO1 grant from the National Institutes of Health for his research, "Anti-oxidant and Metabolic Phenotype in Regulating Tumor Specific T-cell Memory Response."