Health Sciences Division Newsroom

Stay up to date with news about Loyola University Chicago's Health Science Division.

Department of Radiology and Clinical Research Office wins Walter E. Berdon Award

An announcement was made at the May 2018 Society for Pediatric Radiology meeting that a SSOM research group from the Department of Radiology and Clinical Research Office won the Walter E. Berdon Award from the Society for Pediatric Radiology for the best Clinical Research paper submitted to the journal of Pediatric Radiology in the year preceding the meeting.

Best Clinical Paper (Walter Berdon Award) 2017:

Jennifer E. Lim-Dunham, MD, FACR, Iclal Erdem Toslak, MD, Khalid Alsabban, MD, Amany Aziz, MD, Brendan Martin, PhD, Gokcan Okur, MD, Katherine C. Longo, MD. Ultrasound risk stratification for malignancy using the 2015 American Thyroid Association Management Guidelines for Children with Thyroid Nodules and Differentiated Thyroid Cancer.  Pediatr Radiol  2017, 47: 429-436.  http://doi:10.1007/s00247-017-3780-6.

Institutional Learning Health Systems K12 - call for Scholar LOIs

We would like to inform you of a potential mentored career development training opportunity for faculty and/or healthcare professionals led by Drs. Abel Kho and Dave Cella.  If funded, a commitment of 75% time dedicated toward the K by each scholar is required by AHRQ under the terms of this award. Salary (up to $90,000 annually) and an annual research stipend are included. We anticipate having four positions to fill in this institutional K12 scholar program, with a potential start date of September 1st, 2018 and running two years. Letters of intent are due July 16th, 2018.

Download more details.

New IACUC submission forms and portal systam

The IACUC is pleased to announce our new submission system including revised forms and a new portal submission system. The new system will go LIVE on June 27th. We will be holding two training sessions for faculty and staff to introduce the new system.

  • June 21st   3:30 – 4:30 pm  SSOM  Room 160
  • June 28th   9:30 - 10:30 am SSOM Room 190 (Tobin Hall)

Any investigators with submissions in progress using the current online forms are urged to submit their applications before the June 26th deadline. After June 26th, the current online forms will no longer be accepted. Investigators should strongly consider submitting any applications using the current online forms in advance (prior to June 19th) and requesting a pre-review through Tony Valero, IACUC Director. Pre-review identifies common errors in ACORP submissions, and investigators will have the opportunity to correct their submissions prior the June 26th deadline. Any submissions requiring corrections after the deadline will need to be transferred to the new forms and submitted using the new system. 

Please contact Tony Valero if you have any questions (x64288,

Emerging Leader Institute scholarship

Kate Nowakowski (M3) and Tiffany Ku (M1), each received the very competetive 2018 Emerging Leader Institute scholarship through the AAFP! This is an incredible opportunity for networking and expanding leadership skills within the family medicine specialty. Kate and Tiffany are the first Stritch School of Medicine student to receive this prestigious award given to only 30 selected residents and students annually.

Health Sciences Division Weekend of Excellence Winners

The Weekend of Excellence Ceremony took place April 19-22, 2018. Students and organizations were recognized for outstanding work performed throughout the school year. The winners representing the Health Sciences Division include:

  • Anya Nikolai and Abigail Cannon with Women in Science for Outstanding Organization Award
  • Sahand Ghodrati won for Outstanding Student Leader 
  • The Health Professionals Recruitment and Exposure Program (HPREP) won for Outstanding Program of the Year
  • Victoria Nguyen - Damen Award Recipient

See all of the award winners from the Weekend of Excellence.

Alpha Omega Alpha 

Michael Murphy (MD ‘19), was awarded the Alpha Omega Alpha Carolyn L Kuckein Student Research Fellowship for 2018-19 for the “Patient compliance of weight bearing status-prospective observational study.”