Alumni of the Bioethics Graduate Program
at Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine

  Congratulations to the recent Loyola Bioethics students and alumni on achieving the American Society for Bioethics & Humanities (ASBH) Ethics Consultant certification (HEC-C):  Megan Bayrd, DO; Cynthia Coleman, MA, RN, DBE; Ryan Pferdehirt, MS, DBE (cand.); Caroline Lecoque, DBE; Ryan Pferdehirt, MS, DBE (cand.); Melinda Plumley, MA, DBE (cand.); Daniel Reirden, MD; Anne Margaret Shuham, DBE; Michael Sullivan, DBE, RN, FACHE

See here for a complete list: HEC-Certified Students & Alum
Sarah Russe, DBE, has joined Memorial Medical Center in Springfield, IL, as a clinical ethicist. She joins two other ethicists at MMC to conduct clinical ethics consultations, develop and conduct educational programs for hospital staff and community members, provide education and policy development support to affiliate hospitals, and participates in ethics committees at Memorial Health System Hospitals.  She completed the Doctorate in Bioethics (2018) at Loyola.
Fr. Brian Fetsko, MDIV, MA, has been promoted to Vice President of Mission, Mercy Health Fort Smith, AR. He completed the Master's in Bioethics (2014) at Loyola.
Claudia Sotomayor, MD, DBE, has been awarded the Cura Personalis Fellowship at Georgetown University Medical School.  She completed the Doctorate in Bioethics (2016) at Loyola.
Michael Redinger, MD, MA, has been appointed for a 2 year term on the Michigan State Medical Society Board of Directors.  He completed the Master's in Bioethics (2011) at Loyola.

For all featured alum click here

Recent Alumni Publications

Leslie A Kuhnel. Getting to the Heart of the Matter: Navigating Narrative Intersections in Ethics Consultation. Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics 2019; 9(2): 163-71.

Laura Vearrier. The Value of Harm Reduction for Injection Drug Use: A Clinical and Public Health Ethics Analysis. Disease-a-Month 2019; 65(5): 119.

Michael Redinger, Dickson C, Lorbeer E. Assisting Medical Students in the Creation of a Class Oath Using Comics, in Stagno & Blackie (eds), From Reading to Healing: Teaching Medical Professionalism Through Literature. Kent State University Press, 2019.

For all Student & Alumni Publications click here

Congratulations to our 2019 GRADUATES!

The Neiswanger Institute for Bioethics proudly announces the graduates of 2019.

Doctorate Degree in Bioethics  

Jillian Boerstler
Mary Donnelly
Gianna McMillan
Pamela Payne
Gina Santori

Master of Arts in Bioethics       

Michelle Armstrong
Ramesh Batra
Katy Bayless
Jennifer Discher
Laura Doyen
Lauren Draper
Donna Ewy
Mary Kelly
Christian Lowe
Ann McDonald
Rebecca McNeil
Teresa Morris
Jennifer Ramseyer
Wendy Smith
Kenneth Robert Smoot
Daniela Vargas












Previous Graduates:   Graduates 2014; Graduates 2015; Graduates 2016; Graduates 2017; Graduates 2018