At A Glance

Loyola University Chicago’s Health Sciences Division is committed to excellence in research and education, and ultimately to improving human health in our local and global communities. Grounded in our Jesuit tradition, the division’s faculty educates future health care leaders and researchers with a focus on providing care to those most in need.

Educating health care professionals

The Health Sciences Division includes the Stritch School of Medicine, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, and the biomedical programs of The Graduate School. The division also has a number of institutes and centers, encouraging interprofessional education and research opportunities:

Loyola’s home for health sciences

The Health Sciences Campus is home to more than 600 medical students and majority of health sciences graduate-level classes. Established in 1962 in Maywood, Illinois, as the medical ‌center campus, it was renamed the Health Sciences Campus in 2011 after the consolidation of Loyola University Health System with Trinity Health.

The campus also houses the Center for Translational Research and Education and Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center where more than 500 researchers, staff, and students collaborate.

A strong clinical partnership

Our clinical partners at the Loyola University Health System and Trinity Health help us set the standard for top-tier health sciences education and research. The Loyola University Medical Center is adjacent to our Health Sciences Campus and our faculty members often have clinical appointments at the Loyola University Health System. This strong partnership helps provide our students with relevant and up-to-date techniques, practices, and methods.